Boxing, Latest News

Woodhouse – I’ll be back after my knockout

Woodhouse: I’ll be back after my knockout | This is Hull and East Riding.

CURTIS Woodhouse says he’ll learn from his knockout defeat against Dale Miles and come back stronger to capture the British light-welterweight title.

The 32-year-old was stopped in the fifth round of his British title eliminator by Miles at the Magna Centre in Rotherham, also suffering a fractured jaw in the process.

Edging a contest that had developed into the war Woodhouse had promised in the build-up, the St Paul’s ABC boxer walked onto a huge left hook from Miles which sent him to the canvas and ended his hopes of securing a title fight.

Despite the defeat, Woodhouse says it is nothing more than a set-back and with the promise of a re-match against Miles, he’s confident his ambition of becoming British champion can still be realised.

“I’ll have to learn from this because I can’t go in gung-ho in fights like that against someone who hits that hard.

“I took some massive shots and you can’t keep getting hit like that,” Woodhouse told the Mail.

“I’ll have a few weeks’ rest and then I’ll come back again. I’m a lot of things but I’m not a quitter. I’ll come back and I still aim to be British champion. I’ll get there.

“Dale will go on and win the British title now, I don’t doubt that. But he’s promised me after he’s won it he’ll give me another shot at him and the title in his first defence.”

The pair had knocked out a total of 20 opponents from their 27 combined fights and the likelihood of the contest going the distance had evaporated by the second round as the two stood toe-to-toe, raining down heavy punches.

Working well behind his jab which was bringing success, Woodhouse looked comfortable picking off an opponent that boasted height and reach advantage.

But it was when Miles pressed and came in close Woodhouse found himself having to withstand a flurry of big hits.

Looking every bit a possible British champion, Miles reinforced his impressive reputation as he stepped up his work rate, but by the start of the fifth round the boxer from Alfreton was looking tired from his exertions and it was Woodhouse in the ascendency. Until that fateful big left.

“I was winning the fight, I hurt him and moved in for the kill but walked onto a left hook and he switched my lights out. I didn’t even realise I was down,” explained Woodhouse.

“I got up and said I was fine to carry on, but the referee made the right decision stopping it. Somebody was going to go down in this fight and unfortunately it had to be me. I was hurting him and it was just a matter of nailing another shot but he moved in and nailed me with his left hook.

“He hits like a mule. He’s very heavy handed and every time he hit me he shook me down to my bones.

“I was hurting him too and it was one of those fights, I knew it was going to be a war. This is the game we are in, though, and when you have those little eight ounce gloves on when you get hit it hurts.”

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Bradley-Pacquiao decision so deplorable « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  2. Pingback: Alberto Del Rio’s Replacement to Be Announced Tonight on Raw « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  3. Pingback: Thomas Hearns, who won big and lost big, knows Freddie Roach’s dismay « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  4. Pingback: A visit to the Boxing Hall of Fame « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  5. Pingback: Pound for pound & welterweight division rankings update after Pacquiao-Bradley results « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  6. Pingback: Judge from Bradley – Pacquiao fight speaks out « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  7. Pingback: Thom Loverro: Trying to mix and rematch « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  8. Pingback: Five Superstars that WWE Should Push « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  9. Pingback: FCW Star Receives New Name, Rock Begins Shooting Movie « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  10. Pingback: Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson Begins Shooting Empire State « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  11. Pingback: TNA Slammiversary X Rundown « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  12. Pingback: WWE Raw Results June 11th 2012 « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  13. Pingback: Mr. McMahon Returns, Gives Laurinaitis an Ultimatum « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  14. Pingback: Stipulation Added To WWE No Way Out Main Event Updated Card « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  15. Pingback: Stipulation Added To John Cena vs. Big Show Match At WWE No Way Out « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  16. Pingback: Monday Night Raw Results from June 11: Fan’s Take « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  17. Pingback: Monday Night Raw June 11 2012: This Is What You Get With Some Effort « WrestleRaw.com - June 11, 2012

  18. Pingback: Lopez breaks Ortiz’s jaw; scuttles Sept. showdown « WrestleRaw.com - June 25, 2012

Hey leave a comment let me know what you think about this article

WTF Current Shows

  • Saturday: WDW 8PM
  • Monday: UFL Prison Games 7PM
  • Fridays: UFL Prison Games 8PM

UFL FFF Prison Games Season 3 Rankings

WINS/LOSS

HBO Boxing Updates

